News – 12/10/2012

Posted: October 12, 2012 in News
Tags: , , ,

Play Expo 2012 is just days away, and to say I’m excited, would not be entirely accurate. You see, I have this vision of what I’d like to see at Play Expo, but the reality of the event might not necessarily live up to my expectations.

Here’s what I’d like to see:

  • A room filled with arcade machines, past and present. Hopefully there will be a Killer Instinct coin-op.
  • A room filled with (independent) merchants selling gaming goodies. Perhaps there will be someone selling off their sealed SNES collection.
  • A room filled with developer’s booths selling official gaming goodies. In this same room, gamers would be given the chance to chat with the developers about the latest um, developments.
  • A room filled with Wii Us (which we can actually touch and play with).
  • A cosplay contest.

Here’s what I don’t want to see:

  • A room filled with Xbox 360s hosting a Call of Duty competition.
  • A room filled with PS3s hosting a FIFA 2012 competition.
  • A room filled with merchants selling overpriced shit which can be bought virtually anywhere.
  • A room filled with PUBLISHERS (yes, not developers… publishers) who’ve brought along their top sales and marketing executives, in an effort to plug the latest DLC and subscription packages.
  • Misc. sales and marketing teams  trying to sell products which have nothing to do with computer and videogames.
  • A room filled with Wii Us, for display purposes only, playing the same demo reel we saw at E3.

Both MS and I intend on critiquing this event, so expect a full report on Play Expo very soon.

Some review Gadgets & Technology news:

I’ve finally uploaded my video review of Sony’s KDL-46HX923. As I mentioned in the video description, the intention of the review was to concentrate on either the features specific to the HX923, or features which have been introduced to the 2011 BRAVIA range. However, I suspect that some followers of NNR were expecting a more thorough review, similar to the Network Media Player critique. To satisfy these people, I intend to do another FAQ article based on the most popular search terms relating to the HX923.

RH

Leave a comment